Catching up on the 2016 ALIA Qld Mini Conference

… or ‘How I ‘attended’ the 2016 ALIA Qld Mini Conference last week thanks to the wonders of technology!’

Back in October, ALIA Qld ran their Mini Conference focused on ‘library hacks‘.  I was very excited to go, but unfortunately as the day drew closer I realised I would be working and unable to attend.  I knew that ALIA Qld had streamed the event live on Facebook, but I hadn’t clicked that these streams would still be available to watch after the conference.

As luck would have it, I stumbled across the Mini Conference presentation slides uploaded to the ALIA Qld blog while doing a little research for my up coming Masters project last week and then found the videos on the ALIA Qld Facebook page (a very happy accident!). I made good use of the recordings and the blog material over the last days of my Christmas/New Year break.

There were so many interesting presentations at the Mini Conference, I definitely recommend making a pot of tea and watching it at home!  I’ve embedded the videos here for easy watching should you be so inclined:

Session 1:

Session 2:

Session 3:

Session 4:

You can also read along with what everyone at the Mini Conference was tweeting about by checking out #aliaqld2016.

I’m hoping I can make it along in person this year!

[Feature image: ‘The Internet is Open‘ by Jeremy Brooks licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0]

Published by

Kylie Burgess

Bachelor of Justice graduate, current Master of Information Science (Library and Information Practice) student at the Queensland University of Technology.

Leave a Reply

