My favourite library podcasts

I don’t know about you, but I love podcasts.

Other than reading, listening to podcasts is my favourite way to pass time while commuting to work or university. Most days, I am able to finish one or two podcasts during my travels, so I listen to my fair share!  Lately, I’ve been moving away from my usual true crime fare and toward library related podcasts.

There are many entertaining library podcasts out there and I’ve found that several do double duty. In addition to being a great way to pass some time, many library focused podcasts are a great way to learn a bit about what’s going on in libraries around the world, making them a useful professional development tool.

To that end, I thought I’d share a few of my favourites here. Most of them are library focused, hence the title of the blog.  My apologies to the ‘GAMRers’ in GLAMR!

My favourite library podcasts:

Beyond the Stacks – I’m relatively new to this podcast, but I am loving it so far!  Beyond the Stacks interviews librarians and information professionals in interesting or unconventional careers.  My favourite episode so far was an interview with Amanda Brennan: Meme Librarian!

Circulating IdeasCirculating Ideas is a well established podcast that frequently interviews heavy hitters in the library world (think R. David Lankes).  While this podcast certainly has a US focus, you’ll get to hear about a variety of library related topics and from some impressive library innovators.

Cardicast – Cardicast is a handy recording of recent New Cardigan events; great for those of us outside of Melbourne!  It’s always an interesting listen.

Cyberpunk Librarian – The Cyberpunk Librarian is a long running podcast that covers a variety of topics that fall somewhere at the intersection of librarianship and technology.

 

I also enjoy:

S. S. Librarianship, Law Librarian Conversations, Better Library Leaders and Librarians Assemble!

Do you know of any other library related podcasts I should check out?  Please comment or Tweet your recommendations – I’m always looking for new things to listen to during my commute!

[Feature image: ‘iPod‘ by PabloFreak licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0.  No changes made to image]

Published by

Kylie Burgess

Bachelor of Justice graduate, current Master of Information Science (Library and Information Practice) student at the Queensland University of Technology.

7 thoughts on “My favourite library podcasts”

  1. I’m so happy to hear that you are enjoying Beyond the Stacks! Just curious – how did you find out about our show?
    – Elizabeth, current producer of the Beyond the Stacks podcast

    Like

    1. Hi Elizabeth!

      Not long after the episode with Amanda went live, I was doing a content curation project about born digital content for my MLIS and decided to add memes after finding an article about ‘the meme librarian’. The podcast came up while I was finding out a bit more about Amanda and her job so I listened to the episode. I loved it and then immediately devoured the back catalogue 😀

      I’ve been telling my classmates about it ever since!

      Kylie

      Like

  2. Hello, Kylie! A friend of mine pointed your site out to me and I wanted to thank you for the shout-out! I’m thrilled that you enjoy the show. 🙂 And it’s blog posts like this that make the work worthwhile! (Though it really isn’t work most of the time.)

    Take care, and thanks again!
    ~Daniel Messer – The Cyberpunk Librarian

    Like

Leave a Reply

